Winter Gratitude


First things first…kind thoughts and prayers go out to anyone touched by the horrendous weather in the midwest. I cannot hardly watch and hear about the pain and loss being felt there.
Today was my grandmother’s 90th birthday…and her recent fall, which I can only imagine was a plot engineered solely by a deranged Pomeranian named Dandy (why?) who must be possessed by the spirit of my dead mother! My grandma broke her knee cap, and has already had two surgeries in a week. Prior to the fall, my auntie was going to have people come for a family get-together for the big birthday. Ooohhhh well…she would have hated the attention. Bygones.
Oh yeah, my birthday is Tuesday and I’ll be 45, NOW am I a grown-up?
Speaking of weather, it was unseasonably warm in Santa Barbara this weekend, going over 80 in most areas and seemed like everyone in town (locals) was at the beach. I took the path to Arroyo Burro Beach and I was enchanted! People who were perfect strangers engaged in conversation, “we are so blessed…” and “yes, my dog is crazy!” and just staring at the water, waveless and sapphire blue and then out towards the Channel Islands. I met a dog being looked after named Lancelot, this wonderful Labrador who had quite an obsession with his stick, burying it and unburying it for some odd unknown reason. The charming mix lab is Florence, named after the city. She was a rescue from Greece!..and 14 years young!
Some of these shots have some incredible fallen trees from the cliffs above on the Mesa. You can judge their enormity by the people below, must have been a sight to see when then came down!
Long story short, lovely, beautiful day.  Enjoy the shots 😀

Leave a comment